

Maryland State Police Automotive Safety Enforcement Division

6601 Ritchie Highway Glen Burnie, MD 21062

(410) 768-7388

Maryland State Inspection Mechanic Tests

The Maryland State Police Automotive Safety Enforcement Division (ASED) and the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) have joined together to help streamline the Maryland State Inspection Mechanics testing program.

The Maryland State Inspection Mechanic test is now an automated test offered at all full service MVA locations, Monday – Saturday (except where noted). The test for Maryland State Inspection Mechanic will be taken in the MVA Law Room in the same manner that MVA gives driver's license written exams. **NOTE:** The test will <u>not</u> be available at the Columbia, Parkville, Walnut Hill, or Oakland MVA locations.

Overview of new testing procedures

The MSP Mechanic Inspection test series is for applicants who seek to obtain approval from the Maryland State Police to perform vehicle safety inspections at state licensed inspection stations on different types of vehicle classes.

- The Mechanic Inspection test series consists of an Admin test that must be taken and passed by the applicant prior to taking any of the Class tests in this series if they are not currently an inspection mechanic. The associated Class tests that are part of the Mechanic Inspection test series are Class A, Class B, Class C, Class M, Class R, and Class T.
- The Mechanic Inspection tests are available only in English.
- No translator assistance will be provided for the Mechanic Inspection tests.
- The Mechanic Inspection tests are to be administered on the Law Test System's ATS computer testing stations only.
 - In the event that the Law Test System goes down a Mechanic Inspection paper test will not be administered. The Mechanic Inspector applicant will need to return to test when the Law Test System is functioning and a computer administered test is available.
- Each of the Mechanic Inspection tests consists of 20 questions total. Each of the tests require a minimum score of 80% for the applicant to pass. This system has a Quick Fail / Quick Pass feature which ends the test once a passing score is obtained.

• If you passed the test you will be contacted by the ASED within 15 business days to schedule a Demonstrative Ability Test. This test will only be offered in English and no translator assistance is to be provided.

What is the Registration Process for Mechanic Inspection Applicants to Test?

- Prior to arriving at the MVA's Law Room to take the test, the Inspection Mechanic applicant must visit the MSP website, <u>https://egov.maryland.gov/msp/OnlineLicensing/#/home</u>, to register and pay for the tests they wish to take.
- Upon completing the test registration and payment process on the MSP site, the applicant will receive a confirmation of payment receipt that will show proof of payment and the approved tests the applicant can take.
- MSP charges the applicant a fee of \$15. In addition, NIC of MD, the developer, charges a \$0.45 surcharge for each testing session rather than paying per test. The applicant can take a single Mechanic Inspection test or several Mechanic Inspection tests at the same cost of \$15.45 during their testing session. The applicant is only allowed to take the Mechanic Inspection tests they registered for at the time of payment. These approved tests are listed as paid for on their receipt. A maximum of three tests can be taken in one session.

The applicant cannot add additional tests to their testing session once they are at the MVA Law Room. If the applicant does take additional tests they didn't register and pay for prior to testing. MSP will not count their test score for that unauthorized test.

The Mechanic Inspection test fee is not a MVA fee. It is a MSP test fee and is a part of the Maryland Vehicle Safety inspection Program managed by Maryland State Police Automotive Safety Enforcement Division.

Does the Applicant Require an Appointment?

YES. The applicant's Mechanic Inspection tests are currently required to be scheduled through the MVA website; <u>Schedule MVA Law Testing</u>

- Applicants with Out of state license will need to use "First Time Driver/ID Service" to register
 - The use the "Apply for Learner's Permit to register for the exam.
- Applicants with Maryland Driver's license will use "First Time Driver/ID Service"
 - Then will use "Retake Learner's Permit Test"

Any questions about the testing should be directed to the Maryland State Police Automotive Safety Enforcement Division. 410-768-3788 msp.ased@maryland.gov