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Electronic Registration of Machine Gun  

 

 In furtherance of our commitment to better service both the public and 
private sectors of Maryland, the Maryland State Police Licensing Division 
has automated the registration of machine guns. 

 
 Criminal Law Article, § 4-403, requires that any person who acquires 

a machine gun to register the machine gun with the Secretary of State Police 
within 24 hours after acquiring the machine gun.  The law also requires that 
the machine gun registration be renewed in each succeeding year following 
the initial registration during the month of May.  Beginning February 15, 
2015, the Maryland State Police, using the same technology that provides 
Maryland’s residents with their Handgun Qualification License, will furnish 
the application necessary for machine gun initial and renewal registration 
on-line.  The $10 registration fee will also be collected on-line during the 
submission process.  Paper applications will no longer be furnished by the 
Department, nor will they be accepted. 

 
Owners of multiple machine guns, business entities and persons 

already holding an eMDSP account: 
 

1. If you already have an online eMDSP account, you do not need to 
create a new account specifically for machine gun registrations. 
You may log in and use the same account to register your machine 
gun.  
 

2. All machine gun applications must be submitted in the name of a 
person.  No trusts, trade names or commercial business names will 
be accepted. 

 
3. Licensed firearms dealers and businesses with personal eMDSP 

accounts are urged to create separate eMDSP accounts when 
registering machine guns.  This separation will allow for the 
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licensee or business to transfer/manage the entire eMDSP machine 
gun registration account, should licensure or personnel change.  It 
is recommended that firearms dealers include the six-digit 
regulated firearms dealer’s license number immediately following 
the licensee’s last name when creating a machine gun account.  

 
4. Multiple machine guns may be registered for a single registration 

fee, as long as you follow the “Save and Add Another Weapon” 
directions explained below. 

 
5. If you have multiple machine guns and do not wish to 

“add”/register them all in one sitting, click “Save and Add Another 
Weapon.”  Wait for the page to refresh, log out, and continue at 
another time.  Do not complete and pay fees until such time as 
ALL machine guns have been entered.  Once you pay fees, to add 
to your account, you will be required to pay another fee. 

 
6. If you have already started your application, and log back in to 

continue, do not start another application.  Press the YELLOW 
Continue link, to continue the application you already started. 

 
7. If you are clicking “Continue” at the bottom of the Demographics 

page and it does not move to the next page, be sure you scroll to 
the right, and fill in all fields on the page. 

 
8. For security purposes, you will be automatically logged off of your 

account after 15 minutes of inactivity.  Inactivity is any period of 
time that you do not change the page you are on.  
 

9. Annual Machine Gun Registration – When complying with 
Criminal Law §4-403(c) (1) (ii), in each succeeding year during the 
month of May, upon opening your licenses set for renewal, always 
select the most recent application submitted.  This will ensure that 
the record that accounts for your entire machine gun inventory is 
renewed/re-registered at one time.  

 
 


