MARYLAND STATE POLICE

Maryland Department of State Police / Licensing Division 1111 Reisterstown Road Pikesville, Maryland Office: (410) 653.4500 / Fax: (410) 653.4036

ADVISORY

LD-FRU-17-003

APRIL 5, 2017

2017 MACHINE GUN RENEWALS

Dear Machine Gun Owner,

In furtherance of our commitment to better service both the public and private sectors of Maryland, the Maryland Department of State Police Licensing Division is disseminating this Advisory as a reminder of your 2017 machine gun renewal.

Maryland's Criminal Law Article, § 4-403, requires that any person who acquires a machine gun to register the machine gun with the Secretary of State Police within 24 hours after acquiring the machine gun. The law also requires the machine gun registration be renewed in each succeeding year following the initial registration during the month of May. Please be reminded, as of February 15, 2015, all initial and renewal applications must be completed online through the same account Maryland's residents use to obtain their "Handgun Qualification License." The \$10 registration fee will also be collected on-line during the submission process. Paper applications will no longer be furnished by the Department, nor will they be accepted.

Renewals will simply require you to log onto your account, confirm that your personal and weapon's information is accurate, and pay the \$10 fee. Once your machine gun(s) has been registered in the automated system, annual renewals will be straightforward each year.

Maryland's machine gun owners may access the automated application process by visiting our website at www.mdsp.maryland.gov, clicking on "Licensing Division," then selecting "Machine Guns" under the photo labeled "Registration." Registration data provided to the Maryland Department of State Police in compliance with this law is not open to public inspection. If you need further assistance with the machine gun renewal process, you may contact the Licensing Division at 410-653-4500.

Alert Advisories are a service of the Maryland Department of State Police. The content of this document is for OFFICIAL USE ONLY. Any request for disclosure of this document, or the information contained herein, should be referred to either the originator of the Advisory, or the Maryland Department of State Police, Licensing Division, 410.653.4500.

UNCLASSIFIED//FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY