

Maryland State Police Licensing Division ADVISORY



LD-FRS-13-001

June 7, 2013

TRANSFER OF A REGULATED FIREARM COMPLIANCE ADVISORY

The Maryland State Police Licensing Division has been receiving numerous inquiries regarding the 7 day waiting period and has been asked by many of our licensed firearms dealers to provide clarity regarding a dealers' ability to release regulated firearms after the expiration of this 7 day period. This weekly advisory is being sent in an effort to provide this clarification and also provide further clarification to the advisory that was issued on May 31, 2013.

Can a Maryland firearm dealer release a regulated firearm after the 7 day waiting period expires?

Under Annotated Code of Maryland, Public Safety Article Section 5-123(a) and consistent with Code of Maryland Regulations Title 29 Section 03.01.10, a regulated firearm may be lawfully sold, leased or transferred by a licensed firearms dealer or other person after the seven-day waiting period, provided that the dealer or person has not received notice that the application has been placed on hold or disapproved by Maryland State Police (Public Safety Article Sec. 5-125(b)) and the dealer or person does not have actual knowledge or reasonable cause to believe that the recipient is disqualified from possessing a regulated firearm under Maryland or federal law.

A dealer or person <u>may wait</u> until notified that Maryland State Police has completed its investigation and has no obligation or responsibility to sell, lease or transfer prior to being notified that the investigation is completed. The dealer will forward reports of sales of all regulated firearms to Maryland State Police within seven days of the completed sale (COMAR 29.03.01.09).

The Maryland State Police thanks all Maryland firearms dealers for their continued patience and continues to encourage all sellers, lessors and transferors to wait until the Maryland State Police completes its investigation, conducts all checks, and approves the sale, lease or transfer of the regulated firearm before releasing or transferring the firearm.

LICENSING DIVISION TRANSFER OF A REGULATED FIREARM ADVISORY LD-FRS-13-001 June 7, 2013

If I choose to release a regulated firearm after the 7 day waiting period expires how do I complete the required paperwork?

Dealers who choose to release a regulated firearm prior to the completion of a background investigation should clearly print across the top of the original "hard copy" application, under the document's title, *Maryland State Police Application And Affidavit To Purchase A Regulated Firearm* "**EIGHTH DAY RELEASE**". Once noted, the application may only be returned to the Firearms Registration Section by mail to:

Maryland State Police Firearms Registration Section 1111 Reisterstown Road Pikesville, MD 21208

To avoid duplication in processing and billing, eighth day release applications <u>may not</u> be faxed.