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 The Office of the State Fire Marshal is currently seeking applicants for the 
position of Deputy State Fire Marshal I, a sworn law enforcement position.  A 
Deputy State Fire Marshal I enforces State laws in the field of fire prevention, 
fire investigation, and fire inspection. 

 

SALARY RANGE:    $45,985 – 71,701 

 
 

POSITION DUTIES:  A Deputy State Fire Marshal I is the entry level of work in the enforcement of State 
laws in the field of fire prevention, fire investigation and fire inspection.  As a Deputy Fire Marshal I, you 
will serve the citizens of Maryland by: 
 

 Providing fire safety inspections to business and multi-family occupancies. 
 Enforcing State fire safety laws. 
 Determining the origin and cause of fires. 
 Investigating arson fires and arresting those responsible. 
 Providing fire safety information. 

 

MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS:  Each candidate must have:  
 

Education:  High School diploma or G.E.D. certificate accepted by the Maryland State Board of Education 
as described in the Police Training Commission regulation. 

 
Experience: None 

 

Note: The above educational requirement is set by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training 
Commission in accordance with Public Safety Article §3-207. 

 
LICENSES, REGISTRATION AND CERTIFICATES: 

1. Employees in this classification who have not already done so must successfully complete the 
Entrance Level Police Training Course required by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training 
Commission during the probationary period. 

2. Employees in this classification will be required to secure police officer certification as required by 
the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission during the probationary period. 

 
 
 



 
 
SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS OF THE CLASSIFICATION 
 

1. Employees must meet the selection standards required and successfully complete the training 
prescribed by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission for a police officer in 
accordance with the Annotated Code of Maryland, Public safety Article, Section 6-303 or be eligible 
for comparative compliance training, approved by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training 
Commission.  Selection standards for police officer training are listed in detail in the Code of 
Maryland Regulations 12.04.01.04 and include the following: 

 
U.S. Citizenship 
Must be at least 21 years of age 
A completed background investigation, including a check of criminal history 
Oral interview 
Physical examination 
Possession of a driver's license valid in the State of Maryland. 
 

2. Employees in this classification will be required to bear firearms and to 
demonstrate practical knowledge and proficiency in the safe use and care of firearms on a  
periodic basis, as required by the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission. 

3. Employees in this classification are assigned duties in a given service area. 
4. Employees in this classification are subject to call-in and, therefore, will be 

required to provide the employer with a phone number where they can be reached. 
5. Employees in this classification are subject to substance abuse testing in 

accordance with Code of Maryland Regulations 17.04.09, Testing for Illegal  
Use of Drugs. 

 

HIRING PROCESS  
 

DO  NOT  SUBMIT  A  STATE  EMPLOYMENT  APPLICATION  UNLESS  YOU  HAVE  

SUCCESSFULLY  PASSED  STEP  3,  THE  WRITTEN  EXAM.  
 

Step 1:  Applicant Orientation & Pre-application 

ALL applicants must attend a mandatory Applicant Orientation conducted by the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal (dates and locations listed below).  No exceptions. Applicant orientation will provide you with 
information about the Agency, job duties, and the hiring process. Applicants will complete a brief pre-
application. Applicants meeting the Deputy State Fire Marshal I qualification criteria will be scheduled for 
the Functional Fitness Assessment Test to be conducted in December 2016. 
 

Step 2:  Functional Fitness Assessment Test (FFAT) 

The FFAT is a measure of an applicant’s level of fitness and physical preparedness for police academy 
training (FFAT standards listed below). The FFAT will be conducted under the guidance of Maryland State 
Police Fitness Coordinators. You must consult your doctor before participating in FFAT. 
 

Step 3:  Written Examination 

Applicants meeting/passing the requirements of the FFAT will then complete the written examination. The 
written examination is designed to measure the candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities as they relate to 
the duties of this job classification. There is no study material. 
 

Final Stages:  Applicants who meet the requirements following the written examination will submit an 
electronic State employment application to be certified to the Eligible List for at least one year and continue 



in the hiring process which includes an interview, background investigation, polygraph exam and medical 
and psychological examinations. 
APPLICANT ORIENTATION:   (NO LATE ADMISSION) 
 

Date Time Location 

September 7, 2016 7:00 P.M. Easton Volunteer Fire Department 
315 Aurora Park Drive 
Easton, MD 21601 

September 13, 2016 7:00 P.M. Hughesville Volunteer Fire Department 
15245 Prince Frederick Road 
Hughesville, MD 20637 

September 22, 2016 
 

7:00 P.M. Hagerstown Community College 
11400 Robinwood Drive 
Hagerstown, MD 21742 
Classroom ARCC 220 

September 24, 2016 10:00 A.M. Maryland State Police Headquarters 
Office of the State Fire Marshal 
Building ‘C’ Training Room 
1201 Reisterstown Road 
Pikesville, MD  21208 

  
 
STANDARDS for the FUNCTIONAL FITNESS ASSESSMENT TEST (FFAT): 
 

 Push-ups:  18 in one minute 
 Sit-ups:  27 in one minute 
 Flexibility:  approximately 1.5 inches beyond toes (while seated) 
 1.5 Mile Run: maximum time of 15 minutes and 20 seconds (15:20) 

 
 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 
 
1. As a Deputy State Fire Marshal I you will be provided with: 

 Take-home car 
 Protective clothing 
 Clothing allowance 
 Training/Continuing Education 
 Challenging work 
 Statewide assignments 
 Retirement after 25 years of service or at the age of 50 

 
2.  For information on health benefits and leave go to the Department of Budget and Management web site 

at www.dbm.maryland.gov.  

http://www.dbm.maryland.gov/

