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January 30, 2015 
 
 

Dear Machine Gun Owner, 
 
 In furtherance of our commitment to better service both the public and private 
sectors of Maryland, the Maryland State Police Licensing Division is happy to announce 
its latest automation accomplishment.  
 
 As you are aware, Maryland’s Criminal Law Article, § 4-403, requires that any 
person who acquires a machine gun to register the machine gun with the Secretary of 
State Police within 24 hours after acquiring the machine gun.  The law also requires the 
machine gun registration be renewed in each succeeding year following the initial 
registration, during the month of May.  Until today, this registration and renewal process 
was accomplished manually, in writing, on paper, and delivered by U.S. mail.  
 
 Beginning February 15, 2015, the Maryland State Police, using the same 
technology that provides Maryland’s residents with their Handgun Qualification License, 
will furnish the application necessary for machine gun initial and renewal registration on-
line.  The $10 registration fee will also be collected on-line during the submission 
process.  Paper applications will no longer be furnished by the Department, nor will they 
be accepted. 
 
 Every machine gun owner, new or renewal, will be required to create an account 
and submit an “initial” application.  On this initial application, all machine guns, new or 
renewal, must be registered at the same time.  Thereafter, all new acquisitions should be 
added to your account by completing an “initial” application within 24 hours after the 
acquisition.  Renewals will simply require you to log onto your account, confirm that 
your personal and weapon information is accurate, and pay the $10 fee.  Once your 
machine guns have been registered in the automated system, annual renewals will be very 
simple. 
 

Maryland’s machine gun owners may access the automated application process by 
visiting our website at www.mdsp.org, clicking on “Licensing Division,” then selecting 
either the photo labeled “Registration” or “Licensing and Registration” label listed on the 
left navigation pane.  Registration data provided to the Maryland State Police in 
compliance with this law is not open to public inspection. 
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 The Maryland State Police continues to champion technology-driven security 
integration to improve public safety in Maryland.  To that end, the Department 
appreciates your support and patience as we strive to achieve our public safety mission 
through smart integration of technological solutions. 
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Captain Dalaine M. Brady 
      Commander 
      Licensing Division    
      Maryland State Police 
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