
            
 

 

 

June 7, 2013 

 

 

TRANSFER OF A REGULATED FIREARM COMPLIANCE ADVISORY 

 

The Maryland State Police Licensing Division has been receiving numerous inquiries regarding the 7 

day waiting period and has been asked by many of our licensed firearms dealers to provide clarity regarding a 

dealers' ability to release regulated firearms after the expiration of this 7 day period.  This weekly advisory is 

being sent in an effort to provide this clarification and also provide further clarification to the advisory that was 

issued on May 31, 2013. 

 

Can a Maryland firearm dealer release a regulated firearm after the 7 day waiting period expires? 
 

 Under Annotated Code of Maryland, Public Safety Article Section 5-123(a) and consistent with Code of 

Maryland Regulations Title 29 Section 03.01.10, a regulated firearm may be lawfully sold, leased or transferred 

by a licensed firearms dealer or other person after the seven-day waiting period, provided that the dealer or 

person has not received notice that the application has been placed on hold or disapproved by Maryland State 

Police (Public Safety Article Sec. 5-125(b)) and the dealer or person does not have actual knowledge or 

reasonable cause to believe that the recipient is disqualified from possessing a regulated firearm under 

Maryland or federal law.  

 

A dealer or person may wait until notified that Maryland State Police has completed its investigation and 

has no obligation or responsibility to sell, lease or transfer prior to being notified that the investigation is 

completed. The dealer will forward reports of sales of all regulated firearms to Maryland State Police within 

seven days of the completed sale (COMAR 29.03.01.09). 

 

 The Maryland State Police thanks all Maryland firearms dealers for their continued patience and 

continues to encourage all sellers, lessors and transferors to wait until the Maryland State Police completes its 

investigation, conducts all checks, and approves the sale, lease or transfer of the regulated firearm before 

releasing or transferring the firearm.   
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If I choose to release a regulated firearm after the 7 day waiting period expires how do I complete the 

required paperwork?  
 

Dealers who choose to release a regulated firearm prior to the completion of a background investigation 

should clearly print across the top of the original “hard copy” application, under the document’s title, Maryland 

State Police Application And Affidavit To Purchase A Regulated Firearm “EIGHTH DAY RELEASE”. Once 

noted, the application may only be returned to the Firearms Registration Section by mail to:  

 

Maryland State Police 

Firearms Registration Section 

1111 Reisterstown Road 

Pikesville, MD 21208 

 

To avoid duplication in processing and billing, eighth day release applications may not be faxed.  
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