# **MARYLAND STATE POLICE**

### Maryland Department of State Police / Licensing Division 1111 Reisterstown Road Pikesville, Maryland Office: (410) 653.4500 / Fax: (410) 653.4036

## **ADVISORY**

## LD-FRU-21-001

## February 24, 2021

#### LICENSING PORTAL UPGRADE MACHINE GUN REGISTRATION AND RENEWALS

On Sunday, February 28, 2021, the Maryland State Police, Licensing Division, will perform an upgrade to the Licensing Portal, which will include moving the Machine Gun Registration and Renewal process into the Licensing Portal. This upgrade will require a Licensing Portal outage beginning 0600 hours and last until approximately 1200 hours. The Licensing Portal will be unavailable to the public during this time.

Criminal Law Article, § 4-403, requires that any person who acquires a machine gun to register the machine gun with the Secretary of State Police within 24 hours after acquiring the machine gun; and in each succeeding year during the month of May. Beginning March 1, 2021, all machine gun registrations and renewals will be submitted electronically via the Licensing Portal. Paper machine gun registration or renewal forms will no longer be accepted and will be returned with instructions to submit via the Licensing Portal. Applicants who do not currently have a Licensing Portal account will be required to create one. The Licensing Portal can be accessed at the following web address:

#### licensingportal.mdsp.maryland.gov

The required \$10 machine gun registration fee will be submitted electronically with the machine gun registration or renewal application via the Licensing Portal. Both Visa and MasterCard are accepted.

For further information, please visit our website at <u>mdsp.maryland.gov</u>, and click on "Licensing Division." Registration data provided to the Maryland Department of State Police in compliance with this law is not open to public inspection. If you need further assistance with the machine gun renewal process, you may contact the Licensing Division at <u>msp.firearmsregistration@maryland.gov</u>. Regulated Firearms Dealers may contact us using the LiveHelp feature within the Licensing Portal.

Alert Advisories are a service of the Maryland Department of State Police. The content of this document is for OFFICIAL USE ONLY. Any request for disclosure of this document, or the information contained herein, should be referred to either the originator of the Advisory, or the Maryland Department of State Police, Licensing Division, 410.653.4500.

UNCLASSIFIED//FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY