

MARYLAND STATE POLICE

Department of Maryland State Police / Licensing Division 1111 Reisterstown Road Pikesville, Maryland Office: (410) 653.4500 / Fax: (410) 653.5441

BULLETIN

LD-PSSU-20-002 (Amended)

June 29, 2020

REQUIRED TRAINING – SPECIAL POLICE COMMISSIONS

Maryland House Bill 1111 has been approved by the Governor and will take effect on October 1, 2020. The changes are as follows:

1) Unless exempt, an applicant for an initial Commission shall complete a training course approved by the Secretary, in consultation with the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission, consisting of at least 80 hours of instruction, including criminal law, constitutional procedural requirements relating to search, seizure, and arrests and the appropriate use of force.

2) An applicant for a renewal Commission shall complete 12 hours of in-service training approved by the Secretary, in consultation with the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission.

ANY APPLICATION RECEIVED AFTER OCTOBER 1, 2020 WILL NEED TO INCLUDE DOCUMENTATION OF TRAINING, AS REQUIRED ABOVE.

The Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission (MPCTC) is responsible for processing instructor credentials and approval of all training programs.

See House Bill 1111 for exemptions to the above requirements at: House Bill 1111

Please direct any questions with regard to training issues, as they relate to the new laws, to Acting Director Albert J. Liebno, Jr., of the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission, at <u>albert.liebno@maryland.gov</u>. For general questions regarding the new laws or compliance, please direct your questions to Sergeant Edwin Bowers, Supervisor, Police and Security Systems Unit, at <u>edwin.bowers@maryland.gov</u>.

Alert Bulletins are a service of the Maryland Department of State Police. The content of this document is for OFFICIAL USE ONLY. Any request for disclosure of this document, or the information contained herein, should be referred to either the originator of the Bulletin, or the Maryland Department of State Police, Licensing Division, 410.653.4500.

UNCLASSIFIED//FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY