

Maryland State Police Licensing Division ADVISORY LD-HQLU 13-001



August 22, 2013

MARYLAND STATE POLICE QUALIFIED HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR'S ADVISORY FIREARM'S SAFETY ACT 2013

The Maryland State Police Licensing Division Command is disseminating this advisory to inform all Maryland State Police Qualified Handgun Instructors of new regulations and processes that become effective on October 1, 2013, as a result of the 2013 Firearm's Safety Act.

The 2013 Firearm's Safety Act defines a Qualified Handgun Instructor as:

- 1. M.S.P. Qualified Handgun Instructors; or
- 2. Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commission Certified Firearm Instructor; or
- 3. Firearm Instructor certified by a nationally, recognized firearm's organization.

Unless otherwise exempted, a person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (H.Q.L.) issued by the Maryland Department of State Police. Unless otherwise exempted, prior to submitting an application for an <u>H.Q.L.</u> or <u>Handgun Wear/Carry Permit</u>, applicants must complete a firearm's safety training course by an approved and registered Qualified Handgun Instructor.

The Firearm's Safety Training Course, for the Handgun Qualification License, shall consist of a minimum of four (4) hours of instruction and affirms the applicant's safe operation of the firearm which requires firing at least one round of ammunition. Qualified Handgun Instructors, interested in providing training for either the H.Q.L. or Maryland State Police Handgun Wear and Carry Permit, should begin to prepare a course syllabus that satisfies the basic requirements. Firearm's Safety Training Courses for the Handgun Qualification License must include instruction on:

<u>State's Firearm Law</u> – All courses must include an overview of the State's firearm laws, including a discussion regarding what constitutes a regulated firearm, how to properly purchase or transfer a firearm, where applicants are permitted to carry or transport a firearm, when it is necessary to possess a wear and carry permit, and who is prohibited from possessing firearms.

<u>Home Firearm Safety</u> - All courses must include an overview of handgun and firearm safety in the home, including a discussion regarding access to minors, locking and storing of firearms, and the proper use of safety devices, to include lock boxes and safes.

LICENSING DIVISION M.S.P. QUALIFIED HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR'S ADVISORY LD-HQLU-13-001 August 22, 2013

<u>Handgun Mechanisms and Operation</u> - All courses must include the firing of at least one (1) round of ammunition, an overview of the proper operation and safe handling of a handgun, including cleaning and maintenance, the loading and unloading of ammunition, and the differences between revolvers and semi-automatic handguns.

The Firearm's Safety Training Course, for the Handgun Wear/Carry Permit, shall consist of a minimum of 16 hours of instruction for initial applicants and eight (8) hours of instruction for renewal applicants, along with a proficiency component in which the applicant fires a course and obtains a qualifying score of at least 70 percent. There are two (2) Handgun Wear and Carry Approved Courses of fire:

<u>Designated Security Professional Course</u>: Must qualify on a practical police course as approved by the Maryland State Police and requires the proficient firing of at least 50 rounds.

Other than Security Professional Course: Must qualify on a course of fire approved by the Maryland State Police and requires the proficient firing of at least 25 rounds.

The Maryland State Police Licensing Division will provide Qualified Handgun Instructors with the aforementioned wear/carry approved courses of fire. Wear/Carry Permit training must also include training in nomenclature, sight alignment, position shooting, dry-firing and range practice.

The processing and issuance of Maryland's Handgun Qualification License will be electronic. Effective October 1, 2013, any qualified handgun instructor interested in providing training for the Handgun Qualification License or Handgun Wear/Carry Permit, must create an on-line account with the Maryland State Police Licensing Division. Once registered with the Division, applicant training certification is reported using the instructor's on-line account. Accounts may be created by visiting www.mdsp.org and following the instructions under the training button. This function will be available on or about September 15, 2013. Automation updates will be posted as they become available.

Firearm's Safety Training Courses that meet the above requirements, are valid for three (3) years prior to the submission of an H.Q.L. application. In advance of online registration capability, qualified handgun instructors interested in providing classes, should email their eligibility credentials to msp.handgunpermits@maryland.gov. Once approved, instructor's contact information will be posted by the Maryland State Police Licensing Division, on our website, so that training may become immediately available.

Any person meeting the above qualifications ,wishing to register with the Maryland State Police to provide firearms training, are encouraged to ensure they follow any departmental or organizational rules and regulations. Employees, of the Maryland State Police, are not eligible and should refer to the message posted on the data management system.