UNCLASSIFIED//FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY



MARYLAND STATE POLICE



Maryland Department of State Police / Licensing Division 1111 Reisterstown Road Pikesville, Maryland

Office: (410) 653.4500 / Fax: (410) 653.4036

ADVISORY

LD-PLU-24-006

October 24, 2024

Security Guard Employer Registration

On October 18, 2024, a link was made available on the Maryland State Police Licensing Portal homepage for Security Guard Employers to register with the Maryland Department of State Police (MDSP) in compliance with SB 760 (2023) and SB 729 (2024). This link is ONLY for Security Guard Employer registration. Security Guard Agencies should have received a separate link via an email sent to the Agency Representative Member (see Advisory LD-PLU-24-005 for additional information). The Security Guard Employer registration process will grant Security Guard Employers access to the Licensing Portal, however, full functionality in the Licensing Portal will not be available until January 1, 2025. Security Guard Employers must be registered in the Licensing Portal in order to submit Security Guard Applications.

Security Guard Employers, who will have Security Guards working on the New Year's Eve/Day Holiday, and are not currently Security Guards certified by the Maryland State Police, will need to submit paper Security Guard applications for those Security Guards working on the New Year's Eve/Day Holiday. The MDSP Licensing Division will begin accepting these paper applications on December 1, 2024. All paper applications must be received at the MDSP Licensing Division no later than December 27, 2024. Applications received after December 27th will be not be accepted and will be returned.

Paper applications submitted for Security Guards working on the New Year's Eve/Day Holiday, must include a copy of the LiveScan fingerprint receipt, documentation of Security Guard training or Law Enforcement service (see below), a passport photo, and a check or money order for the application fees. The fee for an initial Security Guard application is \$15. The fee for a renewal Security Guard application is \$10. Fees are not refundable and must be paid by check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Police. LiveScan fingerprints are only valid for 30-days from the date on the receipt. Security Guard initial training is at least 12-hours and must be in compliance with Business Occupations and Professions Article §19-412. Individuals who were employed as a police officer in the 3 years immediately preceding the Security Guard application are exempt from the initial 12-hour Security Guard training requirement.

Alert Bulletins are a service of the Maryland Department of State Police. The content of this document is for OFFICIAL USE ONLY. Any request for disclosure of this document or the information contained herein, should be referred to either the originator of the Bulletin, or the Maryland Department of State Police, Licensing Division, 410.653.4500.

UNCLASSIFIED//FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY



If your Security Guard/s will not be working on the New Year's Eve/Day Holiday, you <u>DO NOT</u> need to submit the paper application prior to December 27, 2024. Security Guard Employers registered in the Licensing Portal may begin submitting electronic Security Guard applications on January 1, 2025.

The MDSP Licensing Portal homepage and the Security Guard Employer Registration link can be found here: Maryland State Police Licensing Portal

The paper Security Guard Application can be found here: Security Guard Certification Application

A complete copy of Senate Bill 760 (2023) can be found here: SB 760 (2023)

A complete copy of Senate Bill 729 (2024) can be found here: SB 729 (2024)

Additional information can be found on the MDSP Licensing Division website at: <u>Maryland State Police</u> Licensing Division. Specific questions can be emailed to: <u>msp.professionallicensing@maryland.gov</u>.

Alert Bulletins are a service of the Maryland Department of State Police. The content of this document is for OFFICIAL USE ONLY. Any request for disclosure of this document or the information contained herein, should be referred to either the originator of the Bulletin, or the Maryland Department of State Police, Licensing Division, 410.653.4500.