Interoperability Governance

In Maryland, the Statewide Communications Interoperability Program is directed and supported by the Statewide Interoperability Office, the Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee (SIEC), the Practitioner's Steering Committee (PSC), subcommittees/workgroups and five Regional Interoperability Committees (RICS).

Maryland formally established its Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee (SIEC) along with its Practitioner Steering Committee (PSC) on July 10, 2008 by Executive Order.  The Superintendent/Secretary of the Maryland Department of State Police chairs the SIEC. The SIEC is comprised of 34 senior elected and appointed officials from state, county, and municipal governments who are appointed by the Governor. Public safety unions and associations, such as the Maryland State Fireman’s Association, the Maryland Chiefs of Police, and the Maryland Association of Counties, are also appointed by the Governor to represent their members. 

The SIEC is responsible for the Statewide Communications Interoperability Plan (SCIP) which is updated annually with the Statewide Interoperability Office. The SIEC is also responsible for the deployment, usage, and coordination of the State frequency use and oversight when dictated by the Federal Communications Commission. Decisions from the SIEC are implemented through the position of Director of the Statewide Interoperability Office who also serves as Maryland's Statewide Interoperability Coordinator (SWIC) who is responsible for the public safety communications systems and programs within the State.​ 

The Practitioners Steering Committee is comprised of 29 members who are appointed by the Governor and serve as a steering and advisory committee to the SIEC.  Maryland's Statewide Interoperability Coordinator (SWIC) serves as the Chair.​

Additional Subcommittees under the PSC include the Information Technology Committee, Radio Technical Committee, Radio Coordination Committee, Governance Committee, Training, Execise and Policy Committee, Funding and Sustainment Committee, FirstNet/Broadband Committee and the Video Systems Committee.  All Committee Chairs report to the PSC with recommendations, interoperability gap analysis, progress reports, work toward SCIP goal completion and funding recommendations.

​Statewide Interoperability Coordinator (SWIC)

Each state and territory has a SWIC who among their other responsibilities and duties, oversees daily interoperability within each state or territory. As the central coordination point for their state or territory, the Statewide Interoperability Coordinator (SWIC) plays a critical role in a state’s interoperability effort. The SWIC works with emergency response leaders across all levels of government to implement a statewide strategic vision for interoperability. As part of this effort, SWICs are responsible for the implementation of the Statewide Communications Interoperability Plan (SCIP), which establishes a vision for interoperability in the State.