

## Department of State Police Office of the State Fire Marshal

### Law Enforcement Guide to Fireworks Identification



#### Fireworks that are permitted by State law:

Only gold-labeled sparklers, novelty items (i.e. party poppers, snap pops, snakes), & ground based sparkler devices are permitted for use in the State of Maryland.

Except in Baltimore City, Montgomery and Prince George's counties where all fireworks are illegal. Also, ground based sparklers are prohibited in Ocean City, Harford and Howard counties.

#### Per Maryland Code, Public Safety Article, Title 10 "Fireworks" does not include:

a) Toy pistols, toy canes, toy guns, or other devices that use paper caps if the devices are constructed so that a hand cannot touch the cap when the cap is in place for use;

- b) Sparklers that do not contain chlorates or perchlorates (Only gold-label);
- c) Ground-based sparkling devices that are non aerial and non explosive,
- d) Paper wrapped snappers that contain less than 0.03 grains of explosive composition; or
- e) Ash-producing pellets known as "snakes"

Ground based sparkler devices come in various sizes. These devices when lit only emit a shower of sparks and light that may extend into the air several feet. Some may also whistle but do not pop or crack. They do not explode, shoot any projectiles, move, and must have a base for the device to sit on.

#### Examples of items that are prohibited by State law are:

- Firecrackers, Cherry Bombs, Black Cats, M-80's, Crackling Ball's, and Smoke Bombs
- Roman Candles, and Bottle Rockets (whistling and/or with report)
- Sky Rockets, Helicopter-type Rockets, Spinning Wheels, Moving Tanks or Other Vehicles
- Any firework that is shot from a mortar tube

#### Enforcement & Citation information:

Any law enforcement officer may issue a criminal citation and confiscate fireworks for violations. (Confiscated fireworks must be turned over to the State Fire Marshal for disposal.)

#### Public Safety Title 10 – Section: 10-110 – CJIS Code: 10016

...did discharge fireworks without required permit against the peace government and dignity of the State. Penalty - \$250.00

Public Safety Title 10 – Section: 10-110 – CJIS Code: 10021

...did possess (with intent to discharge/with intent to permit the discharge of/for the purpose of sale to persons) fireworks, without the required permit against the peace government and dignity of the State. Penalty - \$250.00

# For more information visit http://mdsp.org/firemarshal or contact our Bomb Squad at 410-859-7152 or MEMA for after hours at 1-877-636-2872.

Revised 2016/09