Interoperability Regions and Users

​Maryland's Statewide Interoperablility Office is  located under the Maryland Department of State Police, Secretary/Superintendent's Office.  A Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee (SIEC) and Practitioner's Steering Committee (PSC) and associated committees and workgroups have been established by Executive Order and reflect cross-discipline and cross-jurisdictional representation from the public safety community.  These commmittees also reflect membership from the five interoperability regions and work with each region.  In addition, associations such as Maryland Fireman's Association, Maryland Police Chiefs and Sheriffs, MML, MAACO, State FOP and State Law Enforcement Officers Labor Alliance are all represented as well as State agency Secretaries and representatives and the Governor's  Office.    

Through the Director of Maryland's Statewide Interoperability Office/Statewide Interoperability Coordinator, Maryland's interoperability program is also coordinated with Maryland's surrounding states through their SWICs, other states and terroritories across the Country and the Department of  Homeland Security, Office of Emergency Communications and FEMA.  
Maryland is divided into five interoperability regions as shown on the map below. Each region has established a governance structure and charter to oversee the development of interoperable communications within their regions. ​
  1. WAGIN is the Washington, Allegany and Garrett Interoperability Network for the Western part of the State;
  2. The NCR (National Capital Region) interoperability region consists of Prince George’s, Montgomery, and Frederick Counties;
  3. CMARC is the northern interoperability region of Baltimore City and the City of Annapolis, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Howard, and Anne Arundel counties joined to form CMARC – Central Maryland Area Radio Communications;
  4. SMIEC (Southern Maryland Interoperable Executive Committee) consists of Charles, Calvert and St. Mary’s Counties;
  5. ESCA (Eastern Shore Communications Alliance) consists of Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Caroline, Talbot, Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, Worcester counties and the town of Ocean City.

Maryland Regions

Interoperability Regions

For  more information, visit the Program Governance tab.

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information