77R: A common abbreviation for the Maryland State Police Application and Affidavit to Purchase a Regulated Firearm.
Copycat Weapon: A gun with any of the following characteristics:
Certified Qualified Handgun Instructor: A person whom the Maryland State Police has confirmed as being certified by either the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions or a nationally recognized firearms organization as a firearm instructor. A Certified Qualified Handgun Instructor may instruct Handgun Qualification License applicants and Handgun Wear and Carry Permit applicants.
Curio and Relic: As defined by the BATFE, firearms automatically attain C&R status when they are 50 years old, and in their original configuration. The Maryland State Police uses the same definition, as does the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives.
Federal Firearms License (FFL): A person certified and licensed by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives to engage in the business of conducting firearms transactions. For more information, please visit the BATFE page here.
General Wear and Carry Permit: Issued to anyone other than a security professional who demonstrated a good and substantial reason to wear and carry a firearm. Examples include, but are not limited to: business owners and employees, correctional officers, former police officers, and individuals requiring a firearm for personal protection.
Habitual drunkard: A person who has been found guilty of any three crimes under § 21-902(a), (b), or (c) of the Transportation Article, one of which occurred in the past year.
Habitual user: A person who has been found guilty of two controlled dangerous substance crimes, one of which occurred in the past 5 years.
Handgun Qualification License (HQL): A person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013 unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL) issued by the Maryland State Police or qualify for exemption status.
LEOSA Permit: Issued by the Maryland State Police to an individual who has been qualified as separating from the Maryland Department of State Police. This includes Maryland State Troopers and Maryland Deputy State Fire Marshals only. This permit authorizes the person to whom it's issued to carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction of the United States (with certain exceptions).
Licensed Qualified Handgun Instructor: A person licensed by the Maryland State Police as a firearm instructor who may instruct Handgun Qualification License applicants and Handgun Wear and Carry Permit applicants.
Regulated Firearm: Md. Public Safety Code Ann. § 5-101(r) defines a regulated firearm as:
What is a Copycat Weapon? Please click here to find the full definition.
Security Professionals Wear and Carry Permit: Issued to private detectives, security guards, special police, armored car guards, and other security professionals who wear and carry a firearm as required by their employment.
Wear and Carry Permit: also known as Handgun Permit, Concealed Carry Permit. See General Wear and Carry Permit and Security Professionals Wear and Carry Permit.
1201 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville, MD 21208
(410) 653.4200 | (800) 525.5555 | (410) 486.0677 (TDD)