Security Guard Certifications

Security Guard Certifications

A security guard is an individual who provides security guard services to any person on behalf of a security guard agency. Security guard services include any activity that is performed for compensation as a security guard to protect any individual or property.

Where to Mail Applications


Maryland State Police
Licensing Division
1111 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
Attn.: Security Guard Unit

If you are submitting a Wear and Carry Permit application simultaneously with your Security Guard application, please ensure that the packet is directed to the attention of the Handgun Permit Unit for expeditious processing.

Who Should Apply?


To qualify for a State of Maryland Security Guard Certification, an applicant shall be an individual who is a current employee of, or a current applicant for employment with a licensed security guard agency and be of good moral character and reputation. Applicants must also meet any standards set by the Maryland State Police.

The Maryland State Police may deny certification as a security guard to any applicant:

  1. if the applicant or individual fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain certification as a security guard ; OR
  2. if, under the laws of the United States or of, any state, the applicant or individual plead(s) guilty or nolle contendre to or is convicted of (1) a felony; or (2) a misdemeanor that is directly related to the fitness and qualification of the applicant or individual to be certified as a security guard.

NOTE: Individuals who are not current employees of or a current applicant for employment with a licensed security guard agency shall not apply for a State of Maryland Security Guard Certification.

Licensed Security Guard agencies shall, upon receipt from an applicant, forward to the Maryland State Police the applicant's application form, Livescan receipt, photographs, and fees.

How To Apply?


The Security Guard Unit will only accept applications completed electronically on the PDF form(s) provided below under Documents for initial and renewal applications. Please answer all questions accurately, completely and honestly. Once completed, the PDF form should be printed, signed, and mailed.

Mail the application packet to the Licensing Division at the address provided above. Allow 90 business days for the completion of the application process. If the Licensing Division does not receive the renewal application, satisfactorily completed, by the expiration date, the applicant must begin as a new applicant and complete all requirements necessary for an initial application.

All original applications require FBI and CJIS fingerprint submissions. Additionally, applicants must submit two photographs of applicant (2"x2" square, light background, head and shoulder full face, no hat, no dark glasses).

How Much Does It Cost?


The fee for an initial application is $15. The fee for a renewal application is $10. Fees are not refundable. Fees must be paid by check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Police.

When Should I Renew?


A Security Guard Certification expires three (3) years after its date of issuance and upon the date the Secretary of State Police sets. By regulation, the Secretary shall stagger the terms of the certification. The license may be renewed for an additional 3-year term.

The renewal process is the responsibility of the applicant and should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the license. Timely renewal is the responsibility of the license holder. The renewal application and required material must be mailed to the Licensing Division at least 90 business days before a certification expires. Renewals require, in addition to the FBI fingerprints:

  1. a renewal application form;
  2. the amount of the renewal fee; and
  3. the amount of any late fee.

NOTE: Renewal applicants must be entitled to be certified. If a prohibiting conviction or event has occurred, the renewal will not be granted. If the Maryland State Police does not receive the documents required at least 90 days before the license expiration date, the Maryland State Police shall charge the licensee a late fee of $5 per day, beginning the day after the expiration date. A maximum of $150.00 may be assessed. The Licensing Division may not certify any applicant if the applicant has outstanding late fee obligations.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the status of my Security Guard Application?

 

You will need to contact your security guard agency and have them submit the status request to the Maryland State Police Licensing Division, Security Guard Section.​

If I am a security guard in another state can I use that certification to work in Maryland?

 

No, you must submit an application to the Maryland State Police Licensing Division, Security Guard Section before you can work in this state.​

How do I become a security guard in the state of Maryland?

 

You must apply for a security guard certification through a valid security guard agency that is licensed to conduct business in this state.​

What training requirements are required to obtain a security guard certification?

 

You must be a U.S. citizen or possess documentation that allows you to work in this country. The applicant shall be of good character and reputation. The Maryland State Police Licensing Division may deny a security guard certification for a felony or a misdemeanor that is directly related to the fitness and qualification of the applicant to be certified.​

Statutes

Below you will find links to PDFs of relevant Maryland statutes, provided for your convenience. Please note that laws change over time. The below documents were created on June 12, 2013, and are for reference purposes only. To obtain the most recent text of any legislation, please go online to LexisNexis to access the up-to-date Maryland code.

Note:  In order to view documents that are PDFs please utilize Internet Explorer or disable the PDF Viewer in Google Chrome.  Instructions for disabling the PDF Viewer can be found HERE​.​

  
  
  
MDBusinessOccupationsandProfessionsCode19-401.pdf
  
94 KB
 

 Documents

 
  
  
  
Advisory LD-SSU  15-002 - Scope of Security Certification.pdf
  
56 KB
LD-SSU-15-001  Licensure of Security Guard Agencies and Guards.pdf
  
56 KB
MISA Presentation.pdf
  
766 KB
Security Guard Certification Application.pdf
  
1571 KB