​Organization of the Maryland State Police

The Maryland State Police is a paramilitary organization. Both our organizational structure and our rank structure are modeled after the United States military. In general, there are:

  • Department of State Police (commanded by the Colonel)
  • Bureaus (commanded by a Lieutenant Colonel)
  • Commands (commanded by a Major)
  • Troops (commanded by a Captain)
  • Divisions (commanded by a Captain or Civilian Director)
  • Barracks (commanded by a Lieutenant)
  • Sections (commanded by a Captain, Lieutenant, or Civilian Director)
  • Units (commanded by a First Sergeant)

All of the subdivisions of the Department fall under the Office of the Superintendent and are part of one of the three bureaus. Below you will find the responsibilities of each bureau


Includes staff and units that directly support the administrative responsibilities of the Secretary. Those units and staff report to the Chief of Staff.


Responsible for 23 barracks across the state which provide law enforcement services. The bureau is divided into the Northern and Southern Commands. Approximately 75 percent of MSP sworn personnel are assigned to this bureau. FOB also Includes Special Operations & the Transportation Safety Command.


Provides investigative services, both overt and covert, to support the Department's mission of achieving public safety by improving the quality of life for the citizens of Maryland. CIB includes a variety of specialized units to include the Forensic Sciences Division, Computer Crimes Section, Maryland Center for Missing and Unidentified Persons, Statewide Apprehension Team, Gun Enforcement Unit, Licensing Division and the Homicide Unit.


Performs vital services to support the personnel and operations of the Maryland State Police. The Bureau is divided into the Aviation Command, Personnel Command, Logistics Command, and Technology & Information Management Command.