*** Special Update***
* Effective October 1, 2016 Fingerprints will no longer be required for renewal application submissions. Fingerprints are still required for all initial/original Handgun Permit applications. (MD SB208 2016)
ATTENTION: Before you may legally wear and carry a regulated firearm, you must possess and maintain on your person the MSP-issued Handgun Wear and Carry Permit. Submission of the application does not authorize you to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.
To Access the Wear and Carry Application click on the link below:
Wear and Carry Application
Can't download or open the application? Click for help in the format of your choice: PDF | MS Word
Training must be successfully completed prior to submitting the application, unless you are exempt from training. Please click here for information on Wear and Carry Permit Training
Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:
As of October 1, 2013, all new and renewal applicants must successfully complete required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting the application.
The Handgun Permit Unit will only accept applications completed electronically on the PDF form(s) provided below under Documents for initial and renewal applications. Please answer all questions accurately, completely and honestly. Once completed, the PDF form should be printed, and all documentation required and clarifications you feel may assist investigators in processing your application should be included. Too much is better than too little. The application, and all applicable documents, must be signed.
Mail the application packet to the Licensing Division at the address provided below. Allow 90 business days for the completion of the application process. If the Licensing Division does not receive the renewal application, satisfactorily completed, by the expiration date, the applicant must begin as a new applicant and complete all requirements necessary for an initial application.
The renewal process is the responsibility of the applicant and should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the handgun permit. Timely renewal is the responsibility of the permit holder. The Licensing Division does not send out renewal reminders.
The applicant must submit, with the application, the electronic fingerprint transmission receipt and two (2) color passport type photographs depicting the applicant from
the shoulders up. The photographs must be taken within the last 30 days and should be 2 inches by 2 inches. The applicant should not be wearing a hat or sunglass in the photograph.
Fees must be paid by check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Police. Checks must be drawn on active accounts with sufficient funds. If the check is returned for insufficient funds or due to a closed account, the applicant will be required to pay for future requests of the Licensing Division by cashier’s check or money order.
Original/Initial – $75.00 - Fingerprint Fees not included
Renewal – $50.00 - Fingerprints No Longer Required
Duplicate/Modification – Total $10.00
Active/Retired Law Enforcement Officers of this State or a County/ Municipality – $0.00
Maryland State Police
1111 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
ATTN: Handgun Permit Unit
The initial Handgun Permit expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month following two (2) years after the date the permit is issued. Permits that have been modified or are a duplicate expire on the date provided on the initial permit.
A Handgun Permit may be renewed for successive periods of three (3) years each if, at the time of an application for renewal, the applicant possesses the qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the renewal fee as established in the subtitle.
The renewal process is the responsibility of the applicant and should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the permit. Timely renewal is the responsibility of the permit holder. The Licensing Division does not send out renewal reminders. The expiration date is on the face of the permit.
It is the permit holder’s responsibility to notify the Licensing Division of address changes, in writing, within 30 days of any change. You must mail this change to the same address as you would mail an application.
1. On school property (CR 4-102)
2. Within 1,000 feet of a demonstration in a public place (CR 4-208)
3. In legislative buildings (SG 2-1702)
4. Aboard aircraft (TR 5-1008)
5. In lodging establishments where the innkeeper reasonably believes individuals possess property that may be dangerous to other individuals, such as firearms or explosives (BR 15-203)
6. On dredge boats, other than two 10 gauge shotguns (NR 4-1013)
7. In or around State-owned public buildings and grounds (COMAR 04.05.01.03)
8. On Chesapeake Forest Lands (COMAR 08.01.07.14)
9. In State Forests (COMAR 08.07.01.04)
10. In State Parks (COMAR 08.07.06.04)
11. In State Highway Rest Areas, unless properly secured within vehicle (COMAR 11.04.07.12)
12. In community adult rehabilitation centers (COMAR 12.02.03.10)
13. In child care centers, except for small centers located in residences (COMAR 13A.16.10.04)
SCHERR VS HANDGUN PERMIT REVIEW BOARD
Snowden v Handgun Permit Review Bd of Maryland Dept of Public Safety and Corrections
Note: Armored Car Company Supplemental Background Investigation Applications Click Here
No. Maryland does not recognize permits/CCWs from any other state.
Yes, however, Maryland and Federal laws require specific conditions be met while transporting a handgun. Please refer to Maryland Annotated Code, Criminal Law, Title 4, Section 203 for a detailed account of wearing, carrying, or transporting a handgun. You may access the Maryland General Assembly website at http://mlis.state.md.us/ You can access the Federal requirements through www.atf.gov and conduct a search for “27 Code of Federal Regulations, Part 178” and then look for “Transportation of Firearms.” The basic requirement during transport is the handgun must be unloaded and in an enclosed case or enclosed holster with the ammunition separate from the handgun AND you must be transporting the handgun to or from the locations listed in the statute.
Yes, under Title 18, Section 926A, of the United States Code, a person who is not prohibited from possessing, transporting, shipping, or receiving a firearm shall be entitled to transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm to any place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm if, during such transportation the firearm is unloaded, neither the firearm nor any ammunition being transported is readily accessible or is directly accessible from the passenger compartment. In the case the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the driver's compartment the firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked compartment other than the glove compartment or console.
To find a fingerprinting service provider, please Click Here.
No. They must be approved by the Dept. of Public Safety and Correctional Services.
No. Out-of-state providers are not approved by the Dept. of Public Safety and Correctional Services.
Click Here to see the exemptions
A list of Qualified Handgun Instructors is available online here.
No. The handgun instructor must be registered with the Maryland State Police on-line registration.
The application is not supported by certain internet service providers. Therefore, Internet Explorer must be used for the application to download.
No. The application must be completed on the computer, then printed and signed. Handwritten applications will be returned as incomplete.
You may handwrite the email address or you can print the application out with the red banner showing. If handwriting the email address make sure it is accurate and legible.
You may leave this area blank. Send in a copy of the LiveScan receipt with the application.
You must submit a notarized letter advising the circumstances surrounding the disappearance of the permit. Submit a $10 check or money order and one (1) passport size photograph taken within the last 30 days. If you are a security guard, private detective, armored car guard or special police officer, also provide a company letter from your current employer verifying your employment.
You need to submit the same documentation as when you first applied.
As long as the renewal application has been received at the Handgun Permit Section at least two (2) weeks prior to the expiration date of the current handgun permit, you are still allowed to carry on the expired permit until you receive your renewed permit. If the application is returned to you for incompleteness and you resubmit it after the two (2) weeks, you will not be allowed to carry your handgun.
Below you will find links to PDFs of relevant Maryland statutes, provided for your convenience. Please note that laws change over time. The below documents were created on July 15, 2014, and are for reference purposes only. To obtain the most recent text of any legislation, please go online to LexisNexis to access the up-to-date Maryland code.
Note: In order to view documents that are PDFs please utilize Internet Explorer or disable the PDF Viewer in Google Chrome. Instructions for disabling the PDF Viewer can be found HERE.
1201 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville, MD 21208
(410) 653.4200 | (800) 525.5555 | (410) 486.0677 (TDD)