** Effective Immediately! Please utilize the paper Initial / Renewal
Machine Gun forms for the 2020/2021 year.
March 12, 2020, Governor Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., issued an Executive Order
entitled “Extending Certain Licenses, Permits, Registrations, and Other
Governmental Authorizations, and Authorizing Suspension of Legal Time
Requirements”. This order extends all
State issued licenses, permits and registrations that expire or are eligible
for renewal during the state of emergency.
As a result, all licenses, permits and registrations issued and
administered by the Maryland Department of State Police Licensing Division will
not expire until the thirtieth (30th) day after the COVID-19 state of emergency
has been lifted. The Governor’s
Executive Order can be read by clicking the following link. Licenses and
Permits-Extension (March 12). This extension applies
to the Annual Machine Gun Registration, thereby, extending the Annual Machine
Renewal due date to the thirtieth (30th) day after the COVID-19
state of emergency has been lifted.
The Maryland State Police
would like to thank Maryland’s machine gun owners for their continued patience
and understanding while we continue to improve the Machine Gun Registration
process in Maryland. Should you have any questions or concerns, you may
contact Sergeant Jason Edwards or TFC David Simmons at firstname.lastname@example.org. In addition, Regulated Firearms Dealers
may contact us using the LiveHelp feature within the Licensing Portal.
Any person who acquires a machine gun shall register the machine gun with the Secretary of State Police within 24 hours after acquiring the machine gun; and in each succeeding year during the month of May.
Possession or use of a machine gun is presumed to be for an offensive or aggressive purpose when the machine gun is not registered as required under § 4-403, Criminal Law Article. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years. Pursuant to Maryland statute registration data provided under this section is not open to public inspection.
The complete Maryland Code can be accessed by clicking here. This valuable resource allows interested parties to view the applicable laws pertaining to licenses, certifications and commissions sought. All applicants should familiarize themselves with the statutes associated with the product sought.
Maryland State Police is sending all machine gun owners, who registered in 2016,
a paper copy of the Annual Machine Gun Registration Form. These forms will be sent, via US Mail, to the
address provided during the 2016/2017 Machine Gun Registration/Renewal. You may choose to wait for the paper copy, or
you may immediately select the Initial Machine Gun Registration Form or the
Annual Machine Gun Registration Form, below. This form is fillable, and may be completed
prior to printing, or you may print the blank form, and complete it by hand. If you choose to complete the form by hand,
please print legibly.
Machine Gun Renewal Application Machine Gun Initial Application
Original/Initial - $10.00
Renewal - $10.00
Acceptable methods of payment include check or money order made payable to Maryland State Police.
Below you will find links to PDFs of relevant Maryland statutes, provided for your convenience. Please note that laws change over time. The below documents were created on June 12, 2013, and are for reference purposes only. To obtain the most recent text of any legislation, please go online to LexisNexis to access the up-to-date Maryland code.
Note: If you are experiencing issues viewing any of the documents on our website please Click Here.
1201 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville, MD 21208
(410) 653.4200 | (800) 525.5555 | (410) 486.0677 (TDD)