Regulated Firearms Dealers

A Regulated Firearms Dealer is defined as a person who is, or seeks to be, engaged in the business of selling, renting, or transferring regulated firearms for either wholesale or retail. A Regulated Firearms Dealer must be licensed by the Maryland State Police, and must have a valid Federal Firearms License prior to the submission of the Maryland Regulated Firearms Dealer application.

Where to Mail Applications


 
Maryland State Police
Licensing Division
1111 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
Attn: Firearms Section


Who Should Apply?


 

A person who is, or seeks to be, engaged in the business of selling, renting, or transferring regulated firearms at wholesale or retail must possess a State of Maryland Regulated Firearms Dealer's License. The Regulated Firearms Dealer's License may be obtained by submitting the initial application (provided under Documents to the left) to the Maryland State Police. APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED OR PROCESSED WITHOUT A VALID FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSE (FFL). A separate license is required for each place of business where regulated firearms are sold, rented, or transferred.

How To Apply

 

To apply, fill out the Regulation Firearms Dealer's License Initial Application form, along with TWO Authorization for Release of Information forms. These forms can be found in the Documents section below or by clicking on the bold hyperlinks above. 

Applications will be accompanied upon submission by:

  1. A copy of the applicant's current valid Federal Firearms License;
  2. A copy of the applicant's current valid government issued identification card, ie; Drivers License;
  3. A copy of the applicant's current trader's license, if inventory is maintained;
  4. Two (2) Authorization for Release of Information forms;
  5. An Authorization for Release of Information to Purchase a Regulated Firearm (77R-3);
  6. A copy of the applicant's retail sales tax license;
  7. Receipt that electronic fingerprints were submitted containing the tracking number;
  8. A photograph of the applicant; and​
  9. A check or money order for the cost of an initial or renewal application, and any other applicable fees. DO NOT SUBMIT FEES FOR FINGERPRINTS AS THEY WILL BE PAID TO THE AUTHORIZED ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINT PROCESSING CENTER.

If the applicant is a corporation, the application shall be completed and executed by a corporate officer who is a resident of the State of Maryland.

How Much Does It Cost?

 

The initial application fee is $50. The fee for renewal applications is $25. Checks and money orders must be payable to the Maryland State Police. The application fee is non-refundable.

  
collapse Category : Firearms Dealers ‎(11)
What do I do if I move to a new place of business? Do I keep my old license?

​A dealer's license is not transferable. Prior to moving a place of business, a licensee shall inform the Secretary and surrender the dealer's license.​

Based upon the legislation, is it 'defined' for the dealers what they must do exactly in order to notify transferees of the 72 hour requirement for lost/stolen regulated firearm? 

​The Public Safety Article, 5-146(a) states that the dealer/seller/transferor "shall notify the purchaser or recipient . . . ."  The statute doesn't provide any further guidance.  A response to question #23 on the newly revised 77R that the dealer did so is sufficient.​

The new law expressly exempts Firearms manufacturers from the HQL. Firearm Manufacturers only account for approximately 10% of licensed Maryland dealers. Is there an exemption for firearms dealers from the HQL requirement?

​The Public Safety Article 5-102(6) exempts dealers from all requirements of Title 5, Subtitle 1 of Public Safety.  Dealers can acquire handguns without an HQL for dealer stock. So, a dealer does not need an HQL to acquire stock.  If the dealer is a corporation or LLC and it wants to sell a handgun to one of its employees or corporate officers, the purchaser will need to complete a 77R and have a HQL.  If the dealer is a sole proprietor, then the business stock is also their personal property and no 77R/HQL would be necessary for transfers from "business stock" to "personal collection.​

Is there an HQL exemption for a dealer when he is considering transfers from his personal stock which could be a purchase not applicable for entry into the federal Acquisition and Disposal Book, but for personal use? 

​If the dealer is a sole proprietor, then business stock is also the dealer's personal property.  No 77R or HQL is required if the dealer transfers a regulated firearm from dealer stock to personal collection. If the sole proprietor dealer wanted to buy a handgun directly for his personal possession (from a licensed dealer in MD), then the dealer would have to complete the 77R and have a HQL.​

Can Maryland Regulated Firearms Dealers transfer Regulated firearms at gun shows?

​Yes. COMAR 29.03.01.21 ("Transfer of Regulated Firearms Sold at Gun Shows") states:

"A. A seller or dealer may not transfer a regulated firearm sold from a table or fixed display at a gun show until the eighth day after the seller or dealer has forwarded the application to purchase or transfer a regulated firearm by certified mail or facsimile machine to the Secretary.

B. A dealer may conduct business at a gun show if:

(1) A legible photostatic copy of a valid Dealer's License is displayed prominently in public view as part of the display;

(2) All business conducted at a gun show is from a table or fixed display; and

(3) The dealer conducts business in compliance with Public Safety Article, Title 5, Subtitle 1, Annotated Code of Maryland."​


What if the applicant is a corporation?

​If the applicant is a corporation, the application shall be completed and executed by a corporate officer who is a resident of the State of Maryland.​

How do you verify the credentials of current or retired military personnel?

​Please refer to the following web-page.

http://www.cac.mil/uniformed-services-id-card/ ​​

May I build my lower receiver purchased after 10/1/2013 into an assault long gun?

​No, a lower receiver of a banned assault long gun purchased after 10/1/2013 may be built—provided there is compliance with federal and other state laws—only into a handgun, a short barreled rifle that has an overall length of 29 inches or greater, or if the lower receiver is an AR15 platform, into a heavy barrel model.

May I build my lower receiver purchased at any time into a handgun?

​Yes, a lower receiver of a banned assault long gun may be manufactured provided there is compliance with federal and other state laws—into a handgun.

Do I need a Handgun Qualification License (HQL) in order to purchase a lower receiver?

​No, a lower receiver of a banned assault long gun is classified by the State as a “firearm,” but not a “handgun”.  A Handgun Qualification License (HQL) is only needed if you are purchasing a handgun that is not classified as a curio and relic.

Which code types should I use for section 4 of the 77R application?

​For section 4 of the 77R application please utilize the code types below.  We realize the current 77R application does not include the appropriate coding.  The form has been corrected and will be disseminated upon reorder.

X -Assault Weapon

O -Other

A -Semi-Automatic

S -Single Shot

R -Revolver​

When Should I Renew?

 

Regulated Firearms Dealer's Licenses expire on the first June 30 after its effective date. Renewal requests must be received 30 business days prior to expiration to allow for the completion of a background investigation. The renewal application is provided in the Documents section under Application Documentation.

Which code types should I use for section 4 of the 77R application?

 

We realize that the current 77R form does not include the appropriate coding. The form has been corrected and will be disseminated upon reorder. Until such time please utilize the codes below on the current 77R form.

  • X-Assault Weapon
  • O-Other
  • A-Semi-Automatic
  • S-Single Shot
  • R-Revolver


Note:  In order to view documents that are PDFs please utilize Internet Explorer or disable the PDF Viewer in Google Chrome.  Instructions for disabling the PDF Viewer can be found HERE​.​

  
  
Description
collapse Firearms Dealers :  ‎(1)
MSP 77R-2BFirearms Dealer
MARYLAND STATE POLICE Addendum: Application and Affidavit to Purchase a Regulated Firearm Short Barreled Rifle (SBR)/Short Barreled Shotgun(SBS)
collapse Firearms Dealers : 2010 Advisories & Bulletins ‎(1)
Firearms Bulletin #10-2 - Information on Assault Weapon PurchasesFirearms Dealer
Information on Assault Weapon Purchases
collapse Firearms Dealers : 2013 Advisories & Bulletins ‎(7)
LD-FRS-13-004 (C) - 2013 Firearm's Safety ActFirearms Dealer
2013 Firearm's Safety Act: Assault Weapons and Copycat Weapons. Updated on January 8th, 2014.
Advisory LD-FRS-13-001 - 2013Firearms Dealer
Transfer of Regulated Firearm Compliance Advisory
Licensing Div - Advisory LD-FRS-13-002Firearms Dealer
Electronic reporting of Maryland State Police application and affidavit to purchase regulated firearm.
Advisory LD-FRS-13-003 - 2013Firearms Dealer
Transfer of a Regulated Firearm - Exemption to complete a Maryland State Police application and affidavit to purchase a Regulated Firearm application (77R) compliance advisory.
Advisory LD-FRS-13-004 - 2013 Firearms Dealer
2013 Firearm's Safety Act: Assault Weapons and Copycat Weapons. Updated on January 8th, 2014.
Licensing Div- Advisory LD-FRS-13-005Firearms Dealer
Maryland Licensed Firearms Dealers - High Capacity Magazine Conversion and Shell Casing Submissions
Advisory LD-FRS-13-006 - 2013Firearms Dealer
Warranties & Replacement Parts: Regulated Firearm Compliance Advisory.
collapse Firearms Dealers : 2014 Advisories & Bulletins ‎(5)
Advisory LD-FRS-14-003 - Receivers of Banned Assault Long GunsFirearms Dealer
Advisory -FRS-14-001 - New Policy and ProceduresFirearms Dealer
New Policy and Procedures for 2014
LD-FRS-Bulletin-14-001Firearms Dealer
Maryland State Police Firearm Review Request Form.
ADVISORY LD-FRS – 14-001 SupplementFirearms Dealer
Policy and Procedures for 2014
ADVISORY LD-FRS – 14-002 REVISEDFirearms Dealer
Short Barreled Shotguns and Short Barreled Rifles
collapse Firearms Dealers : 2015 Advisories & Bulletins ‎(3)
LD-FRS-Bulletin 15-001Firearms Dealer
Provides detailed information for owners of multiple machine guns, business entities, and persons already holding an eMDSP account.
LD-FRS-Bulletin 15-002Firearms Dealer
Bulletin referencing Maryland Licensed Firearm Dealers-Notification of Completed Transaction.
LD-FRU-Bulletin 15-004Firearms Dealer
The 2015 Maryland General Assembly – Summary of Passed Legislation
collapse Firearms Dealers : 2016 Advisories & Bulletins ‎(7)
Firearms Safety Act ComplianceFirearms Dealer
Advisory to assist Federal Firearms Licensees and Regulated Firearms Dealers to ensure compliance with the Firearms Safety Act of 2013.
Notification of Seven Day Waiting PeriodFirearms Dealer
Bulletin referencing seven day waiting period
Automation of 77R ProcessingFirearms Dealer
Bulletin pertaining to automation of the 77R process.
Automation UpdateFirearms Dealer
Automation Update
Maryland's Licensed Firearms Dealers - Licensing Portal Email UpdateFirearms Dealer
Licensing Division's Portal AccountsFirearms Dealer
Licensing Portal Dealer Training OutlineFirearms Dealer
Handout given to firearms dealers at electronic 77R training seminars.
collapse Firearms Dealers : 2017 Advisories & Bulletins ‎(14)
LD-FRU-17-009Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing Infrastructure Maintenance within the Licensing Portal.
LD-FRU-17-010Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing detachable magazines.
LD-FRU-17-011Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing application completion/firearm transfers.
LD-FRU-17-001Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing maintenance on the Licensing Portal.
LD-FRU-17-005Firearms Dealer
This Advisory is disseminated to remind Regulated Firearms Dealers the ATF Form 4473 is required, and that parts of the form must be completed, prior to executing the 77R, unless exempt.
LD-FRU-17-006Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing latest updates to the Licensing Division's Portal.
LD-FRU-17-002Firearms Dealer
Dealer's Renewal Advisory 2017-2018
LD-FRU-17-003Firearms Dealer
This Advisory is being disseminated as a reminder of the 2017 machine gun renewal.
LD-FRU-17-004Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing .22 Caliber Rim Fire "Assault Weapons".
LD-FRU-17-007Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing the 2017/2018 Annual Machine Gun Registration/Renewal temporarily returning to paper applications.
LD-FRU-17-008Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing the movement of Handgun Roster List.
LD-FRU-17-001Firearms Dealer
Bulletin referencing Licensing Portal maintenance.
LD-FRU-17-002Firearms Dealer
Bulletin informing citizens of the 90 Day forum previously held at Headquarters.
LD-HQL-17-002Firearms Dealer
This Advisory is being disseminated to remind all Maryland’s Licensed Firearms Dealers that unless otherwise exempted all applicants must show/provide the physical Handgun Qualification License.
collapse Firearms Dealers : 2018 Advisories & Bulletins ‎(1)
LD-FRU-18-001Firearms Dealer
Advisory referencing Rapid Fire Trigger Activator
collapse Firearms Dealers : Application Documentation ‎(6)
Approved Integrated Mechanical Safety DevicesFirearms Dealer
Regulated Firearms Dealer's License-InitialFirearms Dealer
Application to be used by individuals seeking an initial State of Maryland Regulated Firearms Dealer's license.
Letter to Maryland Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL)Firearms Dealer
Background Checks for Pawn Redemptions and Consignments of Hand Guns
Portal Firearm Transfer Procedure (PDF)Firearms Dealer
Explanation of procedure for firearm transfers within the portal.
Reference Questionnaire and Recommendation FormFirearms Dealer
Used by references selected by the applicant to assist with the Maryland State Police with the required background investigation.
Regulated Firearms Dealer's License - RenewalFirearms Dealer
Application is to be used by existing State of Maryland Regulated Firearms Dealer's license holders to renew their license on a yearly basis.
collapse Firearms Dealers : Dealer Seminar Powerpoints ‎(3)
Dealer Seminar 2015Firearms Dealer
PDFs of the PowerPoint slides shared at the 2015 Dealer Seminar
Dealer Seminar 2014Firearms Dealer
PDF of the PowerPoint slides shared at the 2014 Dealer Seminar.
Dealer Seminar 2013Firearms Dealer
PDF of PowerPoint slides from the 2013 Dealer Seminar.
collapse Firearms Dealers : Statutes ‎(2)
2014 Copycat WeaponFirearms Dealer
Copycat weapon, as defined in Maryland Criminal Law Article § 4-301(e).
List of Assault WeaponsFirearms Dealer
Listing of Assault Weapons from Maryland Public Safety Code Ann. § 5-101(r)(2).
​​