Maryland residents who are not engaged in the business of selling firearms for profit wishing to dispose of a private collection of regulated firearms from a table or fixed display at a gun show should apply for a Temporary Transfer Permit.
Where to Mail Applications
Maryland State Police
1111 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
Attn.: Firearms Section – Temporary Transfer Permits
Please mail the packet (First Class Mail or Certified Mail) to the Licensing division to the address provided above. The packet must be received by the State Police a minimum of 10 business days before the first day of the gun show to be attended.
Who Should Apply?
Maryland residents who are not engaged in the business of selling firearms for profit wishing to dispose of a private collection of regulated firearms from a table or fixed display at a gun show.
How To Apply?
To apply for the Temporary Transfer Permit you will need to utilize the
Temporary Transfer Permit form provided in the Application Documentation section below. Make sure all questions are answered accurately, completely and honestly. Attach all documentation required and clarifications you feel may assist investigators in processing your application. Please provide as much information as possible because too much is better than too little.
If there is no reason to disapprove the application, the Temporary Transfer Permit shall be issued and forwarded to the applicant within seven (7) days of the date of application.
How Much Does It Cost?
The initial permit application shall have attached to it a non-refundable check or money order payable to the Department of State Police in the amount of $10.00.
Fees must be paid by check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Police. Checks must be drawn on active accounts with sufficient funds. If the check is returned for insufficient funds or due to a closed account, the applicant will be required to pay for future requests of the Licensing Division by cashier’s check or money order and the application will be disapproved.
When Should I Apply?
The Temporary Transfer Permit is active only for the declared period of the Gun Show. The application packet MUST be mailed to the Licensing Division so that the packet is received by the State Police a minimum of 10 business days before the first day of the gun show to be attended.
It is the Permit holder’s responsibility to ensure the Licensing Division is notified of address or name changes in writing. There is no fee to change information maintained by the Licensing Division. E-Mail notifications are not accepted and you may not receive a confirmation of receipt for change of information.
Frequently Asked Questions
| : Transfer Permit Category(2)|
[FAQs on the root site] ? Need FAQ Category webpart
Below you will find links to PDFs of relevant Maryland statutes, provided for your convenience. Please note that laws change over time. The below documents were created on June 12, 2013, and are for
reference purposes only. To obtain the most recent text of any legislation, please go online to
LexisNexis to access the up-to-date Maryland code.
Note: In order to view documents that are PDFs please utilize Internet Explorer or disable the PDF Viewer in Google Chrome. Instructions for disabling the PDF Viewer can be found HERE.